Running Without the Ignition Switch??

What changes have you made to your bike, for better or for worse? Tell us about the mods and upgrades you've fitted to your Seca II.
bpawelek
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 81
Region or State: Poland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: xj 600

Running Without the Ignition Switch??

Post#1 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:22 am

Hi i got 2 ideas:
1. To disassemble the ignition swith to make it shorter and easier to put somewhere else. Has anybody tried it? Can i get some ideas how to solve this problem?

2. Cut off ignition swith and put some remote controll instead. Anybody tried this?

3. What do I need to run without ignition switch?

Thank you

User avatar
radare
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 5549
Region or State: Rocky Mountains
Motorcycles Owned Currently: '92 XJ600N, '92 XJZ600
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: without the ignition swith

Post#2 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:37 am

Here's a look inside your ignition switch:

viewtopic.php?f=44&t=719

To cut it down, you'd need to fabricate a blanking plate which could be bolted where the original steering locking mechanism goes. That would take about an inch off the thing. From there, you could relocate it to the side of the headlamp or down near the coils.

User avatar
Casper
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1871
Region or State: Land of Enchantment (N.M.)
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1994 XJ600, 2006 SV650

Re: without the ignition swith

Post#3 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:24 pm

1. Cutting it isn't fully necessary, but can be done by making the before mentioned plate. It will not work without this plate, I have tried.

Just a mock up I ran with for a while, I am going to run it full time once I get around to doing the mounts and side covers.
Image

2. Do some research on RFID or Remote Start/Ignition applications.

3. Guts and a prayer no thief is going to toggle the starter switch.
ImageImageImage

bpawelek
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 81
Region or State: Poland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: xj 600

Re: Running Without the Ignition Switch??

Post#4 » Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:55 am

thanks a lot for your help. finally i decided to put another ignition switch that is much smaller than yamaha's one and to fit it like casper did. I'll put a plug there that appeared in newer models of seca2.

Sinister imaging
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 32
Region or State: Richmond,va
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1997 yahmaha seca 2

Re: Running Without the Ignition Switch??

Post#5 » Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:31 am

I did a double toggle as my ignition switch on my gs750. Granted it had a separate steering lock.
Image

Return to “Modifications & Upgrades”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests