Running Without the Ignition Switch??

What changes have you made to your bike, for better or for worse? Tell us about the mods and upgrades you've fitted to your Seca II.

Running Without the Ignition Switch??

Postby bpawelek » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:22 am

Hi i got 2 ideas:
1. To disassemble the ignition swith to make it shorter and easier to put somewhere else. Has anybody tried it? Can i get some ideas how to solve this problem?

2. Cut off ignition swith and put some remote controll instead. Anybody tried this?

3. What do I need to run without ignition switch?

Thank you
bpawelek
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:55 am
Region or State: Poland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: xj 600

Re: without the ignition swith

Postby radare » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:37 am

Here's a look inside your ignition switch:

viewtopic.php?f=44&t=719

To cut it down, you'd need to fabricate a blanking plate which could be bolted where the original steering locking mechanism goes. That would take about an inch off the thing. From there, you could relocate it to the side of the headlamp or down near the coils.
User avatar
radare
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 5248
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Region or State: Rocky Mountains
Motorcycles Owned Currently: '92 XJ600N, '92 XJZ600

Re: without the ignition swith

Postby Casper » Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:24 pm

1. Cutting it isn't fully necessary, but can be done by making the before mentioned plate. It will not work without this plate, I have tried.

Just a mock up I ran with for a while, I am going to run it full time once I get around to doing the mounts and side covers.
Image

2. Do some research on RFID or Remote Start/Ignition applications.

3. Guts and a prayer no thief is going to toggle the starter switch.
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Casper
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1750
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:16 am
Region or State: Land of Enchantment (N.M.)
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1994 XJ600, 2006 SV650

Re: Running Without the Ignition Switch??

Postby bpawelek » Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:55 am

thanks a lot for your help. finally i decided to put another ignition switch that is much smaller than yamaha's one and to fit it like casper did. I'll put a plug there that appeared in newer models of seca2.
bpawelek
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:55 am
Region or State: Poland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: xj 600

Re: Running Without the Ignition Switch??

Postby Sinister imaging » Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:31 am

I did a double toggle as my ignition switch on my gs750. Granted it had a separate steering lock.
Image
Sinister imaging
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:58 am
Region or State: Richmond,va
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1997 yahmaha seca 2


Return to Modifications & Upgrades



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron