Running Without the Ignition Switch??

Maintenance, repair, troubleshooting, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
bpawelek
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:55 am
Region or State: Poland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: xj 600

Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:22 am

Hi i got 2 ideas:
1. To disassemble the ignition swith to make it shorter and easier to put somewhere else. Has anybody tried it? Can i get some ideas how to solve this problem?

2. Cut off ignition swith and put some remote controll instead. Anybody tried this?

3. What do I need to run without ignition switch?

Thank you

User avatar
radare
Site Founder
Site Founder
Posts: 8445
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:42 pm
Region or State: Rocky Mountains
Motorcycles Owned Currently: '92 XJR600, '92 Seca II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:
United States of America

Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:37 am

Here's a look inside your ignition switch:

viewtopic.php?f=44&t=719

To cut it down, you'd need to fabricate a blanking plate which could be bolted where the original steering locking mechanism goes. That would take about an inch off the thing. From there, you could relocate it to the side of the headlamp or down near the coils.

User avatar
Casper
Almost as Awesome as Murdock
Almost as Awesome as Murdock
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:16 am
Region or State: Motor City (MI)
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1994 XJ600, 2006 SV650

Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:24 pm

1. Cutting it isn't fully necessary, but can be done by making the before mentioned plate. It will not work without this plate, I have tried.

Just a mock up I ran with for a while, I am going to run it full time once I get around to doing the mounts and side covers.
Image

2. Do some research on RFID or Remote Start/Ignition applications.

3. Guts and a prayer no thief is going to toggle the starter switch.
Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing.

User avatar
bpawelek
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:55 am
Region or State: Poland
Motorcycles Owned Currently: xj 600

Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:55 am

thanks a lot for your help. finally i decided to put another ignition switch that is much smaller than yamaha's one and to fit it like casper did. I'll put a plug there that appeared in newer models of seca2.

User avatar
Sinister imaging
Lookin' Around
Lookin' Around
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:58 am
Region or State: Richmond,va
Motorcycles Owned Currently: 1997 yahmaha seca 2

Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:31 am

I did a double toggle as my ignition switch on my gs750. Granted it had a separate steering lock.
Image

Post Reply

Navigation:

  Search

  New Posts

  Unread Posts

  The Wall

  Gallery

  About Us


Call to Action:

  Forum Images

  Ride Relay


Cool Projects:

Predrag's Resto

Renegade's 93